DM Tools

Talk about rules, campaigns, worlds, products, other companies, D&D in general, and anything else d20 or D&D related.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, Harley Stroh

jfrenia
Wild-Eyed Zealot

DM Tools

Post by jfrenia »

I am a software developer and not sure how many out there use a laptop as part of DMing, but I like it's help sometimes (also makes a good DM screen at times :wink: )

I was looking to see if anyone had any ideas of other tools that would be helpful to a DM that really aren't available out here.
Jengenritz
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer

Post by Jengenritz »

I am a huge fan of laptop gaming, and especially laptop DMing.

I custom-make most of my DM tools using Excel spreadsheets. For this year's tournament I used a stripped copy of my super-duper character sheet to track the abilities of the PCs, monster hit points, and a few other things, like negative conditions.
If you posted your email, I'd gladly send it your way.

As far as published tools and the like, I contributed $ to www.d20srd.org and received a downloadable version of that site. Handy for when you want to hyperlink away but you aren't sure of an internet connection. I used it in this year's tournament.

That's about all I use once the game goes "live". I like to just be able to glance at the screen and get my info, then get back to the game.
Co-Author: The Almanac of the Endless Traders, DCC #13, DCC #29, DCC #49, DCC #51, DCC #52, DCC #63

Author: DCC #55: Isle of the Sea Drake, DCC #61: Citadel of the Corruptor, more to come....
jfrenia
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Post by jfrenia »

Sure, anyone can reach me at cnygamer@twcny.rr.com if they wanted to send anything to me privately.