Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:24 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:19 pm 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 3:46 pm
Posts: 2314
Location: Left Coast, USA
sirhotalot wrote:
...These die produce a +1 on average compared to what the actual die would get (whereas a D30 might produce an average 14 a d20+d10 produces an average of 15)...

I'm glad this is not a face-to-face conversation, or I'd have to point out that this is all wrong. A d30 averages a 15.5 result. A d20+d10 averages a 16. And none of the 'suggestions' work.

~whew~ Glad it's just a forum!

_________________
Gnome Boy (a.k.a. "Jon") • DCC play-tester @ DDC 35, Feb 2011. • Beta DL 2111, 7:00 AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since 1977 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters - Holds the power to play gnomes at will!

Here Be DCC Monsters...

General Yoros, Warrior, Str 13, Agl 8 (10), Stm 17, Per 13, Int 11, Lck 8; Law, HP 39, AC 17, R+2, F+4, W+2, band/shld, warhammer, longsword, longbow, pitchfork

Han Dee, (Weaver) Neutral Thief, Str 10, Agi 13, Stm 11, Per 11, Int 15, Lck 14, AC 13 (Leather), HP 25, Luck Die d6, Backstab 3, Sneak Silently 10, Hide In Shadows 9, Pick Pocket 10, Climb Sheer 10, Pick Lock 9, Find Trap 9, Disable Trap 9, Forge Doc 10, Disguise 3, Read Lang 5, Handle Poison 3, Cast Scroll d14+2, birth augur (Born under the loom) +1 to all skill checks (including thief skills), Banepicks (auto pick lock/disable trap, but lose 1d3 random ability loss, if a 3 then 1 pt is perm)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 12:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 4:40 pm
Posts: 2
GnomeBoy wrote:
sirhotalot wrote:
...These die produce a +1 on average compared to what the actual die would get (whereas a D30 might produce an average 14 a d20+d10 produces an average of 15)...

I'm glad this is not a face-to-face conversation, or I'd have to point out that this is all wrong. A d30 averages a 15.5 result. A d20+d10 averages a 16. And none of the 'suggestions' work.

~whew~ Glad it's just a forum!

Yea I checked weeks ago and didn't bother to recheck when posting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 4:25 am 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:42 am
Posts: 2263
Location: Chicago suburbs
Don't stress over it. Lots of folks get probabilites messed up. Heck, I've posted some stuff in a hurry myself, then later did the "head-slap" thing and wondered what I was thinking when I posted it.

In general, any time you add dice together you get an uneven probability curve.

_________________
Marv / Finarvyn
DCC Minister of Propaganda; Deputized 6/8/11
Image
DCC RPG playtester 2011, C&C playtester 2003,T&T since 2003,
ADRP Since 1993, OD&D player since 1975

"The worthy GM never purposely kills players' PCs, He presents opportunities for the rash and unthinking players to do that all on their own."
-- Gary Gygax
"Don't ask me what you need to hit. Just roll the die and I will let you know!"
-- Dave Arneson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 9:36 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:19 pm
Posts: 33
Here is my solution to the dice issue.

Use a permanent marker to 'connect the dots' on standard issue casino D6 dice. You can create 3 types of dice:

D3: for standard D3 rolls

D0-2: for D24, D26, and D28

D0-1: for D14, D16 and D18. You can also use the D0-1 as a modifier die with the 1 indicating +1 or -1 as required for D5, D7 or D9.

See the attached image.
Image
upload gif


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:59 am 
Offline
Mighty-Thewed Reaver
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:28 am
Posts: 357
tithian wrote:
Here is my solution to the dice issue.

Use a permanent marker to 'connect the dots' on standard issue casino D6 dice. You can create 3 types of dice:

D3: for standard D3 rolls

D0-2: for D24, D26, and D28

D0-1: for D14, D16 and D18. You can also use the D0-1 as a modifier die with the 1 indicating +1 or -1 as required for D5, D7 or D9.

See the attached image.
Image
upload gif



This was a nice idea for getting a d3... but the suggestions at the bottom are absolutely wrong.
How can you think of rolling a d24 by rollin a d0-2 ALONGSIDE a d4? :shock:
That would only create 01, 02, 03, 04 , 11, 12, 13, 14, 21, 22, 23, 24.
The correct use for a D0-2 (or any other d0-X) is as a control die.
For a d24 you can roll
(12 * d0-1) +d12
or
(8 * d0-2) +d8

This works exactly as the D%, which is
(10* d0-9) + d0-9

_________________
Author of Arcanix RPG - fantasy medieval d6 system
learn more :
http://arcanixrpg.webs.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 12:22 pm 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:19 pm
Posts: 33
Doh! I'm an idiot.

And thank you for correcting me! Your method is great!

G


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 12:25 pm 
Offline
Mighty-Thewed Reaver
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:28 am
Posts: 357
tithian wrote:
Doh! I'm an idiot.

And thank you for correcting me! Your method is great!

G


Don't worry This is what the forums are for...!
Otherwise we would all try our (often dumb) houserules in our games, messing everything up! :mrgreen:

_________________
Author of Arcanix RPG - fantasy medieval d6 system
learn more :
http://arcanixrpg.webs.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:02 pm 
Offline
Chaos-Summoning Sorcerer

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:28 am
Posts: 779
abk108 wrote:
How can you think of rolling a d24 by rollin a d0-2 ALONGSIDE a d4? :shock:

He obviously meant a d12 renumbered: 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 2, 2 rolled along with a d20 that was dual numbered: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5/1, 6/2, 7/3, 8/4, 9/1, 10/2, 11/3, 12/4, 13/1, 14/2, 15/3, 16/4, 17/1, 18/2, 19/3, 20/4. (That was annoying to type. :))

Or he wanted to roll it with a d10 to make a d30.


What I want to know is why the d3 uses angled lines over the 5-pip face but backward E over the 6-pip face. Would backward E look more consistent on both dice? Likewise draw the 1 diagonally on the 1-pip face so it looks the same as the 1 drawn on the 3-pip faces. (And is consistent with the 0-1 die.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:20 pm 
Offline
Mighty-Thewed Reaver
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:28 am
Posts: 357
..or if you really don't want a d6 numbered 123123
(i just bought one for like 1€..) you can just fill with white paint the extra dots to make the 6 a 3, the 4 a 1, and the 5 a 2... It doesn't look extra-cool but you can clearly see the result you got.

_________________
Author of Arcanix RPG - fantasy medieval d6 system
learn more :
http://arcanixrpg.webs.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:27 pm 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:01 pm
Posts: 34
Switch the 2 and 5 on the D0-1. I do not like those naked pips.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 7:02 am 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:50 am
Posts: 96
I have considered using a d4, d6, and d8 to simulate the d3, d5, and d7, and if you get the high number (I.e. 4, 6, or 8) then just use the average result instead of re-rolling. It would skew the result slightly to the average but wouldn't change the average.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:13 pm 
Offline
Mighty-Thewed Reaver
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:28 am
Posts: 357
fjw70 wrote:
I have considered using a d4, d6, and d8 to simulate the d3, d5, and d7, and if you get the high number (I.e. 4, 6, or 8) then just use the average result instead of re-rolling. It would skew the result slightly to the average but wouldn't change the average.


why would you do that? :|
It's like having a d5 numbered 1,2,3,3,4,5.... It messes things up!

_________________
Author of Arcanix RPG - fantasy medieval d6 system
learn more :
http://arcanixrpg.webs.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:46 pm 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:50 am
Posts: 96
abk108 wrote:
fjw70 wrote:
I have considered using a d4, d6, and d8 to simulate the d3, d5, and d7, and if you get the high number (I.e. 4, 6, or 8) then just use the average result instead of re-rolling. It would skew the result slightly to the average but wouldn't change the average.


why would you do that? :|
It's like having a d5 numbered 1,2,3,3,4,5.... It messes things up!


Just an easy way to simulate the funky dice without rerolls. It doesn't change the average and skews to the average a little bit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:53 pm 
Offline
Chaos-Summoning Sorcerer

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:28 am
Posts: 779
fjw70 wrote:
abk108 wrote:
fjw70 wrote:
I have considered using a d4, d6, and d8 to simulate the d3, d5, and d7, and if you get the high number (I.e. 4, 6, or 8) then just use the average result instead of re-rolling. It would skew the result slightly to the average but wouldn't change the average.


why would you do that? :|
It's like having a d5 numbered 1,2,3,3,4,5.... It messes things up!


Just an easy way to simulate the funky dice without rerolls. It doesn't change the average and skews to the average a little bit.

It skews it by 25%, 16.6%, and 12.5%. That's a lot!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:36 am 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:50 am
Posts: 96
jmucchiello wrote:
It skews it by 25%, 16.6%, and 12.5%. That's a lot!


Just throwing out an idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:35 am 
Offline
Mighty-Thewed Reaver
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:28 am
Posts: 357
fjw70 wrote:
jmucchiello wrote:
It skews it by 25%, 16.6%, and 12.5%. That's a lot!


Just throwing out an idea.


Don't worry we weren't criticizing the idea :wink: we were pointing out that it's not really a "slight" change... :D

_________________
Author of Arcanix RPG - fantasy medieval d6 system
learn more :
http://arcanixrpg.webs.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 6:59 am 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:50 am
Posts: 96
abk108 wrote:
fjw70 wrote:
jmucchiello wrote:
It skews it by 25%, 16.6%, and 12.5%. That's a lot!


Just throwing out an idea.


Don't worry we weren't criticizing the idea :wink: we were pointing out that it's not really a "slight" change... :D


You guys just hate me. :)

Seriously, the d3 and d5 are easy enough to simulate with d6s and d10, but using the d8 to simulate a d7 (with an 8 = 4) wouldn't be that big of a deal. Instead of 14% prob for each number you would have 12.5% for most and 25% for a 4. For a MDoA to succeed the prod would change from 71% to 75%. But I guess we have each had our say so I won't keep beating a dead horse.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:06 pm 
Offline
Mighty-Thewed Reaver
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:28 am
Posts: 357
fjw70 wrote:
But I guess we have each had our say so I won't keep beating a dead horse.


*Dead horse's widow sighs with relief* :lol:

_________________
Author of Arcanix RPG - fantasy medieval d6 system
learn more :
http://arcanixrpg.webs.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:55 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 5:15 pm
Posts: 10
I just wanted to say that suggestions in this thread will come really handy when playing with the Beta rules, I especially like the simple conversion of normal casino d6 to d2 and d3.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 6:58 am 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:42 am
Posts: 2263
Location: Chicago suburbs
fjw70 wrote:
using the d8 to simulate a d7 (with an 8 = 4) wouldn't be that big of a deal

1. You're right that it probably wouldn't be a big deal.
2. Why mess with the probabilities at all? Just roll the d8 and re-roll all 8's that come up.

_________________
Marv / Finarvyn
DCC Minister of Propaganda; Deputized 6/8/11
Image
DCC RPG playtester 2011, C&C playtester 2003,T&T since 2003,
ADRP Since 1993, OD&D player since 1975

"The worthy GM never purposely kills players' PCs, He presents opportunities for the rash and unthinking players to do that all on their own."
-- Gary Gygax
"Don't ask me what you need to hit. Just roll the die and I will let you know!"
-- Dave Arneson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 6:24 pm 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:50 am
Posts: 96
finarvyn wrote:
fjw70 wrote:
using the d8 to simulate a d7 (with an 8 = 4) wouldn't be that big of a deal

1. You're right that it probably wouldn't be a big deal.
2. Why mess with the probabilities at all? Just roll the d8 and re-roll all 8's that come up.


I imagine rerolls could be annoying.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 2:21 am 
Offline
Mighty-Thewed Reaver
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:28 am
Posts: 357
i don't see them happening too often, since they
1) don't have huge chances (1/6 to say with d5)
2) the dice you're simulating are not widely used: you might have to roll a d5 not more than 3-4 times a session, and that's if the warrior is level 3 and uses it for MDoA

I mean, i hated to roll a d14 or d16 with a d20 rerolling 1/3 or 1/4 of the times! (wasting 19s and 20s!!) but with d7 i wouldnt mind rolling a d8.

_________________
Author of Arcanix RPG - fantasy medieval d6 system
learn more :
http://arcanixrpg.webs.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 2:58 am 
Offline
Chaos-Summoning Sorcerer

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:28 am
Posts: 779
fjw70 wrote:
finarvyn wrote:
fjw70 wrote:
using the d8 to simulate a d7 (with an 8 = 4) wouldn't be that big of a deal

1. You're right that it probably wouldn't be a big deal.
2. Why mess with the probabilities at all? Just roll the d8 and re-roll all 8's that come up.


I imagine rerolls could be annoying.

How about trying it first and then you would know for sure if it is annoying or not.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 8:18 pm 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:50 am
Posts: 96
jmucchiello wrote:
How about trying it first and then you would know for sure if it is annoying or not.


Well I have done rerolling before. In AD&D I would roll a d8 instead of 2d4 (I have always disliked the standard d4) and rerolled ones (yes I know the distribution is totally different but his was when I was young and didn't understand these things yet). The rerolling was annoying but less annoying than d4s. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dice: generating "Zocchi results" using "normal" polyhed
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 8:20 pm 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:50 am
Posts: 96
abk108 wrote:
i don't see them happening too often, since they
1) don't have huge chances (1/6 to say with d5)
2) the dice you're simulating are not widely used: you might have to roll a d5 not more than 3-4 times a session, and that's if the warrior is level 3 and uses it for MDoA

I mean, i hated to roll a d14 or d16 with a d20 rerolling 1/3 or 1/4 of the times! (wasting 19s and 20s!!) but with d7 i wouldnt mind rolling a d8.


My 3rd level warriors and dwarves are going to be rolling a d5 more than 3-4 time a session.

I will probably just get the actual dice. I picked up a d30 this weekend from a local game store.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group