Page 78 of the beta rules has the following text under "Recovering the body";
Recovering the body: If the body of a dead ally can be recovered, there is a chance the ally may not be truly killed. He may have been knocked unconscious or simply stunned. If a character reaches a dead ally’s body within one hour, the dead character may make a DC 10 Luck check when his body is rolled over. On a successful check, the dead character was badly injured but is not permanently killed, and the ally is able to keep him alive. The “dead” character was simply knocked out, stunned, or otherwise incapacitated. Once an ally shakes the downed character awake, he recovers to 1 hit point. The character is groggy for the next hour (-4 penalty to all rolls) and sustains a permanent injury of some kind, reflected as a permanent -1 penalty to Strength, Agility, or Stamina (determine randomly).
The bold and underlining are my emphases. You will soon note that the text starts off talking about a dead "ally" that the "character" is saving and turns into a dead "character" that the "ally" is saving. Since I'm interpreting "ally" as an NPC and "character" as a PC (is this correct?), this seems to be a typo. It would also help to be a bit more specific about what is meant by "ally" and "character"; is it my interpretation above or does this text refer to one PC treating another PC? If so, that doesn't conform to the bleeding out rules immediately preceding this text.