Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 11:36 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:41 pm 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:35 am
Posts: 88
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
If the walls of Narborg are warded against Teleport, then presumably they'd be warded against Dimension Door, right?
And presumably the Master Wizard has to go outside of Narborg to cast scrying on the party.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:07 pm 
Offline
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 9:44 pm
Posts: 630
If I were the DM, I'd say "yes" to both cases.
If you are the DM, it's up to you.
The warded walls spell protecting Narborg is from DCC #21: Assault on Stormbringer Castle, and I believe that didn't specifically mention dimension door (hence its absence in CW), but the intent is the same.

_________________
Co-Author: The Almanac of the Endless Traders, DCC #13, DCC #29, DCC #49, DCC #51, DCC #52, DCC #63

Author: DCC #55: Isle of the Sea Drake, DCC #61: Citadel of the Corruptor, more to come....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 11:36 pm 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:35 am
Posts: 88
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Another question:
Is it correct that the duergar priest / werebat is large in hybrid form? Is this because he is a were-dire bat?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 12:51 pm 
Offline
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 9:44 pm
Posts: 630
Correct on both counts, sir!

_________________
Co-Author: The Almanac of the Endless Traders, DCC #13, DCC #29, DCC #49, DCC #51, DCC #52, DCC #63

Author: DCC #55: Isle of the Sea Drake, DCC #61: Citadel of the Corruptor, more to come....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:31 pm 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:35 am
Posts: 88
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
So can he use his enlarge person ability to become huge? Enlarge person says that multiple magical effects that increase size don't stack, does the shapechanging count as a magical effect?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:26 pm 
Offline
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 590
Location: Auburndale, FL
I don't know the official answer but that sounds cool. I would do it and if the players cry foul remind them of the times that you have bent the rule in favor of the PC's to avoid TPK's. :wink:

_________________
"When creating your character,choose an ethical system that can justify nearly any fit of temper, greed, cowardice, or vindictiveness, for example, Chaotic Violent..."

THE PROTOCOLS, ADVANCED PROTOCOL #10


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:19 am 
Offline
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 9:44 pm
Posts: 630
I'm kinda sleepy here, just got back from an awesome concert, so don't quote me, but I'd rule thusly:

If his ability to shapechange is anything other than an extraordinary ability (I'm thinking it's supernatural) then it counts as a magic effect that changes his size, so "no," he can't then become Huge.

_________________
Co-Author: The Almanac of the Endless Traders, DCC #13, DCC #29, DCC #49, DCC #51, DCC #52, DCC #63

Author: DCC #55: Isle of the Sea Drake, DCC #61: Citadel of the Corruptor, more to come....


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group