Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)

Forum for all things Castle Whiterock!

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, Harley Stroh

Post Reply
Jezza
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:35 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)

Post by Jezza » Sun Aug 16, 2009 5:41 pm

If the walls of Narborg are warded against Teleport, then presumably they'd be warded against Dimension Door, right?
And presumably the Master Wizard has to go outside of Narborg to cast scrying on the party.

User avatar
Jengenritz
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer
Posts: 631
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:44 pm

Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)

Post by Jengenritz » Sun Aug 16, 2009 6:07 pm

If I were the DM, I'd say "yes" to both cases.
If you are the DM, it's up to you.
The warded walls spell protecting Narborg is from DCC #21: Assault on Stormbringer Castle, and I believe that didn't specifically mention dimension door (hence its absence in CW), but the intent is the same.
Co-Author: The Almanac of the Endless Traders, DCC #13, DCC #29, DCC #49, DCC #51, DCC #52, DCC #63

Author: DCC #55: Isle of the Sea Drake, DCC #61: Citadel of the Corruptor, more to come....

Jezza
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:35 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)

Post by Jezza » Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:36 pm

Another question:
Is it correct that the duergar priest / werebat is large in hybrid form? Is this because he is a were-dire bat?

User avatar
Jengenritz
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer
Posts: 631
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:44 pm

Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)

Post by Jengenritz » Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:51 am

Correct on both counts, sir!
Co-Author: The Almanac of the Endless Traders, DCC #13, DCC #29, DCC #49, DCC #51, DCC #52, DCC #63

Author: DCC #55: Isle of the Sea Drake, DCC #61: Citadel of the Corruptor, more to come....

Jezza
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:35 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)

Post by Jezza » Sun Sep 20, 2009 3:31 pm

So can he use his enlarge person ability to become huge? Enlarge person says that multiple magical effects that increase size don't stack, does the shapechanging count as a magical effect?

User avatar
DCCfan
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:23 am
FLGS: The Comics Club
Location: Auburndale, FL

Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)

Post by DCCfan » Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:26 pm

I don't know the official answer but that sounds cool. I would do it and if the players cry foul remind them of the times that you have bent the rule in favor of the PC's to avoid TPK's. :wink:
"When creating your character,choose an ethical system that can justify nearly any fit of temper, greed, cowardice, or vindictiveness, for example, Chaotic Violent..."

THE PROTOCOLS, ADVANCED PROTOCOL #10

User avatar
Jengenritz
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer
Posts: 631
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:44 pm

Re: Narborg question (Whiterock spoilers)

Post by Jengenritz » Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:19 am

I'm kinda sleepy here, just got back from an awesome concert, so don't quote me, but I'd rule thusly:

If his ability to shapechange is anything other than an extraordinary ability (I'm thinking it's supernatural) then it counts as a magic effect that changes his size, so "no," he can't then become Huge.
Co-Author: The Almanac of the Endless Traders, DCC #13, DCC #29, DCC #49, DCC #51, DCC #52, DCC #63

Author: DCC #55: Isle of the Sea Drake, DCC #61: Citadel of the Corruptor, more to come....

Post Reply

Return to “Castle Whiterock”