XP Awards and Resource Expenditure

For DCC RPG rules discussion. Includes rules questions and ideas, new rules suggestions, homebrews and hacks, conversions to other systems, and everything else rules-related.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

Post Reply
User avatar
Hrothgar Rannúlfr
Ill-Fated Peasant
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:52 pm
FLGS: The Guardtower

XP Awards and Resource Expenditure

Post by Hrothgar Rannúlfr »

Hi, everyone.

I really like the DCC RPG XP system.

In the event that a caster fails a spell check and loses a spell, is that considered a "resource expenditure" for purposes of awarding XP?
User avatar
GnomeBoy
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
Posts: 3818
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
FLGS: Bizarro World
Location: Left Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: XP Awards and Resource Expenditure

Post by GnomeBoy »

Presumably, yes.

Basically, you're just looking at how hard the party has to work to overcome obstacles. Lack of spells is naturally going to feed into that...
...
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be 100+ DCC Monsters

bygrinstow.com - The Home of Inner Ham
User avatar
Hrothgar Rannúlfr
Ill-Fated Peasant
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:52 pm
FLGS: The Guardtower

Re: XP Awards and Resource Expenditure

Post by Hrothgar Rannúlfr »

Thanks!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules discussion”