Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Sat Nov 17, 2018 9:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 1:44 pm 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:29 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Indiana
FLGS: gamequest
Would it be permissible for a spell written on a piece of ammunition able to be cast with the normal attack die?
For example: A spell written on an arrow head using the characters attack roll as the casting check.

I know it would be expensive to make these, etching on an arrowhead, sling stone, or bullet casing would be an atypical surface which would double the cost. And since you are changing the "Trigger" of the spell you could apply a -2 penalty to casting into the ammo, or possibly the attack roll having a penalty for using odd ammo.

Some of the wording of Write Magic would have to be interpreted differently as well; you would only be able to cast certain spells into ammo and maybe disallow the caster to inscribe runes/curses on top of it. Only one spell per ammunition piece could be allowed, but if you make the check and it allows 2 1st level spells you could make 2 pieces of ammunition.

I believe it would also make sense if you couldn't use mighty deeds in conjunction with enchanted ammo due to the character being distracted by the eldritch energies being used. It should also be noted that the standard attack is overridden by the spell. I.e You are just shooting a fireball, not a fireball AND an arrow.

You couldn't spellburn with them, you would have limited spell-duel ability, and of course nat ones would be corruption as usual :twisted:

Would those rules work or are they a bit too out there? Thoughts? Opinions?

_________________
DCC RPG: So nice, i buyed it thrice!

Eagerly awaiting the release of MCC!

Dice are to Gamers as Gold is to Dragons.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 4:30 pm 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
Posts: 3362
Location: Left Coast, USA
FLGS: Bizarro World
You could do it that way... but it sounds to my ear like some kind of martial wizard class...

Were it me, I'd say the caster is enchanting the ammo, and they should roll a spellcheck when they set it up. That's what gets triggered when the ammo is used. And I have no problem with whomever is shooting the ammo getting their normal class abilities and normal attack stuff along with the magic effect.

_________________
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be DCC 100+ Monsters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group