Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Sat Feb 28, 2015 9:56 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 1:28 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:44 pm
Posts: 12
Just a quick question on wizards that have access to cleric spells...how do you handle them?

For example, Detect Magic is a cleric spell allowed to be known by wizards...it only fails for a wizard on rolling a 1; per the footnote rules at the bottom of the spell listing table in tiny text it briefly mentions that there will be either a misfire or corruption (50% of one or the other).

Ruled as is, my wizard at the table kept recasting Detect Magic without spell loss due to a low roll (like most wizard spells). Just wondering if I am missing something around spell loss due to a low roll?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 6:02 am 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 8:01 am
Posts: 1210
Location: Atlanta, GA
I would think that any misfire results in loss. Is Detect Magic the only spell that doesn't have loss as written?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 8:50 am 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:14 pm
Posts: 73
8bitjunkie wrote:
Just a quick question on wizards that have access to cleric spells...how do you handle them?

For example, Detect Magic is a cleric spell allowed to be known by wizards...it only fails for a wizard on rolling a 1; per the footnote rules at the bottom of the spell listing table in tiny text it briefly mentions that there will be either a misfire or corruption (50% of one or the other).

Ruled as is, my wizard at the table kept recasting Detect Magic without spell loss due to a low roll (like most wizard spells). Just wondering if I am missing something around spell loss due to a low roll?


Treat 1-11 as Lost and Failure.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:31 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:44 pm
Posts: 12
I eventually did treat 2-11 as lost and failure (1 as miscast or corruption).

But, I think there is a need here for clarification in the reprint, just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something around cleric spells on the wizards list in the book.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group