Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:50 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dispel Magic
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 5:47 am 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 9:15 am
Posts: 68
Curious as to how you handle Dispel Magic when it comes to caster's and their own spells. For instance, if a caster casts enlarge on himself, he is 3rd lvl so it would last about 30 mins. He does this in a fight that lasts 10 mins. After the fight, he needs to walk down the corridor but he is too tall. Can he dispel his own spell without dispel magic? If he has dispel magic, does he roll against his spellcheck for the enlarge to dispel or is it automatic? What is the general consensus on this.

_________________
-Stretch
If you survive a crucible you grow the stronger for it. - Arrow.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Dispel Magic
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:37 pm 
Offline
Mighty-Thewed Reaver

Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 11:44 pm
Posts: 343
My understanding is that there's no hard rule covering this aspect of casting; as such it is entirely a matter of play style. For my games I've always assumed that spell casters (arcane & divine) have the ability to dismiss spells that they have cast even if it is upon someone else; unless the spell entry says otherwise. So in your example, the wizard could dismiss the spell's effects as soon as they were no longer needed. On the other hand, casting a sleep spell with a 28 and invoking the 'supernatural sleep' that can only be interrupted by a specific condition is beyond the control of the caster unless they name themselves as the only one who can break the cursed sleep.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Dispel Magic
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:38 pm 
Offline
Hard-Bitten Adventurer

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:55 am
Posts: 155
We don't allow casters to dismiss their own spells. I find this makes the characters think twice about casting spells like "Enlarge." :)

I generally rule that proper magic spells persist after the caster dies, but that many supernatural-type monstrous abilities are broken on the death of the supernatural-type monster.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Dispel Magic
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:43 am 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:41 am
Posts: 2719
If you want to dismiss your spell, you can always try to cast it in reverse with 1d16....... :D

_________________
SoBH pbp:

Cathbad the Meek (herbalist Wizard 1): AC 9; 4 hp; S 7, A 7, St 10, P 17, I 13, L 8; Neutral; Club, herbs, 50' rope, 50 cp; -1 to melee attack rolls. Hideous scar.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Dispel Magic
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:58 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:07 am
Posts: 27
For me - you can't dispel unless stated in description, that caster can end the effect. I think I'll adopt the idea of casting the reverse spell with d16, sounds pretty good.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Dispel Magic
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:59 pm 
Offline
Hard-Bitten Adventurer

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:23 am
Posts: 132
FLGS: trig
I have a huge problem in my understanding of this spell. It works like this: I do not. Worse, in all of the sessions I have ever played I can not fully remember anyone using this spell.

Am I to understand that if a bad guy (5th level mage) casts a fireball on the party and the party mage saves he can then cast dispel magic and the whole thing is undone?

Seriously, I do not know this.

Losloris


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Dispel Magic
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 4:04 am 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:41 am
Posts: 2719
losloris wrote:
I have a huge problem in my understanding of this spell. It works like this: I do not. Worse, in all of the sessions I have ever played I can not fully remember anyone using this spell.

Am I to understand that if a bad guy (5th level mage) casts a fireball on the party and the party mage saves he can then cast dispel magic and the whole thing is undone?

Seriously, I do not know this.

Losloris


No. If the BBEG casts a fireball, the PC wizard can cast dispel magic and enter into a spellduel with the BBEG. If he waits until after the fireball is resolved, ongoing effects might be dispelled (for example, it the fireball had a delayed blast), but that's it.

_________________
SoBH pbp:

Cathbad the Meek (herbalist Wizard 1): AC 9; 4 hp; S 7, A 7, St 10, P 17, I 13, L 8; Neutral; Club, herbs, 50' rope, 50 cp; -1 to melee attack rolls. Hideous scar.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Dispel Magic
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:51 am 
Offline
Gongfarmer

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:50 am
Posts: 1
FLGS: geming zone
For me - you can't dispel unless stated in description, that caster can end the effect. I think I'll adopt the idea of casting the reverse spell with d16, sounds pretty good.

_________________
Get More Info phenq


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group