Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 2:59 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:49 pm 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 12:45 am
Posts: 23
FLGS: I have none.
According to core book, warriors and such can try to cast spells from scrolls untrained - by rolling a d10 and not adding any bonuses by ability score or caster level.

But here's the thing - even the first level spells require at least a roll of 12 to succeed. This means that a fighter attempting to read a magical scroll is doomed from the beginning!

So what's even the point? Why make him roll a d10 to see what happens? Why not just say "It doesn't work"? The only even remote reason I can think of is to see if he rolls a natural 1 and gains magical mishap, but even then it's not much of a reason.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 3:29 pm 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:41 am
Posts: 2681
The warrior can burn Luck. A lucky Halfling watching him can burn Luck on his behalf. A magical effect might require a lower spell check result (see The People of the Pit).

_________________
SoBH pbp:

Cathbad the Meek (herbalist Wizard 1): AC 9; 4 hp; S 7, A 7, St 10, P 17, I 13, L 8; Neutral; Club, herbs, 50' rope, 50 cp; -1 to melee attack rolls. Hideous scar.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:45 pm 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
Posts: 3127
Location: Left Coast, USA
FLGS: Bizarro World
What Raven said, but also: Mercurial Magic on the particular spell may mean a bump up in the size of the die rolled, perhaps.

Beyond the RAW, there could be a realm or zone where magic flows more easily and there is some kind of bonus to ALL spellcheck attempts.

A Warrior could have the favor of a Patron (Patron Bond can be cast on others), and the Patron could be favorably involved in the situation...

— The real point of the rules is anything is possible...

_________________
Gnome Boy (aka "Jon") • DCC play-tester @ DDC 35, Feb 2011. • Beta DL 2111, 7:00 AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since 1977 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be DCC Monsters

PbP Purple Planeteers!

Kelven • Smuggler • L • S14 A8 S11 P12 I7 L10
AC9+, HP4, Mv 30, In -1, R-1 F0 W0
Sword +1 _
Staff +1 or Sling -1 1d4+1
Scale, Flask, waterproof sack, 50’ rope, torch, 21 cp

Toby • Squire • C • S13 A10 S14 P15 I16 L9
AC10+, HP3, Mv 30, In 0, R0 F1 W1
Longsword +1 1d8+1
Scale, Lg sack, steel helmet, 50’ rope, torch • Common, Chaos, Hobgoblin

Havarth • Animal trainer • L • S11 A11 S9 P15 I9 L7
AC10, HP1 (of 4), Mv 30, In 0, R0 F0 W1
Glaive +0 1d10
Club +0 1d4
Chain 10', pony, lg sack, 18 cp

Lucius • Slave • N • S13 A11 S8 P15 I11 L11
AC10+, HP1, Mv 30, In 0, R0 F-1 W1
Sword +1 _
Flint Dagger +1 [thrown]
Club +1 1d4+1
Hide, Flint/steel, strange rock, oil (1)
Crit table +1

RIP
Stinky Pete, Ostler — Spine snapped by a tackling Kith


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:46 pm 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:37 am
Posts: 71
Look at you guys... Giving superb answers...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:45 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:39 am
Posts: 10
FLGS: Games Galore
On the same kind of topic, another kind of silly question about how that works. It does have Wizard's apprentice as a level 0 character occupation. Would a character that rolled that as a level 0 be able to go on to make this roll as a trained roll, since such a thing would be in his background?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 10:49 am 
Offline
Hard-Bitten Adventurer

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 7:25 am
Posts: 160
Zorrah wrote:
On the same kind of topic, another kind of silly question about how that works. It does have Wizard's apprentice as a level 0 character occupation. Would a character that rolled that as a level 0 be able to go on to make this roll as a trained roll, since such a thing would be in his background?


Scrolls are costly, single-use items. If I were a wizard, I certainly wouldn't let my apprentice practice on them. So as a judge, I might give a wizard's apprentice a bump or two up the dice chain for prior experience, but I don't think I'd grant them a 20-sider for an occupation that they seem to have failed at or gotten fired from.

_________________
Purple Planeteers:

Jingles Coinclink F 1/2ling $lender N
S 12 A 10 S 10 P 13 (+1) I 13 (+1) L 10
AC 10 HP 4 Mov 20 Init 0 Ref 0 Fort 0 Will 1
Wood Sword +0 (1d8) - Rope 50', 5gp 10sp 225cp
Infravis 1/2ling lang

Nurzual the Faceter – M Jwlr - L
S 12 A 8 (-1) S 9 P 11 I 15 (+1) L 10
AC 9 HP 4 Mov 30 Init -1 Ref -1 Fort 0 Will 0
Chalk 1pc, 20 gp Gem, Backpack, 10’ chain, 10 sheets parchment, Kith pouch, green stone shard, 59 cp
2h sword +0(1d10)
dagger (p)

Snooth Inksplot Scribe RIP under cave-in, a crushing loss

Qort Quiddlegit M Hlr N
S 11 temp 14 (+1) A 11 temp 14 (+1) S 6 (-1) P 5 (-2) I 6 (-1) L 5 (-2)
AC 10 temp 11 HP 2 Mov 30 Init 0 Ref t+1 Fort -1 Will -2
club +0 (1d4+1t) - hand mirror, holy wtr, wtrskin Kith drink 12 oz drunk/shared w Strekleon, 31 cp
-2 Ms fire damage

Brandybland Shoetree F Coblr N
S 10 A 9 S 10 P 8 (-1) I 9 L 9
AC 14 HP 1 Mov 30 Init 0 Ref 0 Fort 0; Will -1
gldtr glaive +0 (1d10) - gldtr ch mail - Fe spike, shoehorn, 48 cp
Prof: dagger


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 10:03 am 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
Posts: 3127
Location: Left Coast, USA
FLGS: Bizarro World
Bilgewriggler wrote:
Zorrah wrote:
On the same kind of topic, another kind of silly question about how that works. It does have Wizard's apprentice as a level 0 character occupation. Would a character that rolled that as a level 0 be able to go on to make this roll as a trained roll, since such a thing would be in his background?


Scrolls are costly, single-use items. If I were a wizard, I certainly wouldn't let my apprentice practice on them. So as a judge, I might give a wizard's apprentice a bump or two up the dice chain for prior experience, but I don't think I'd grant them a 20-sider for an occupation that they seem to have failed at or gotten fired from.

I think I agree. Skills that are part of your profession you roll with a d20, and things you're not familiar with are a d10.

While an apprentice should have familiarity with spellcasting, if they've advanced as some other Class they don't get a free Wizard Class ability -- just like a squire to a knight is not going to get Mighty Deeds unless they, too, become a Warrior.

I'd suppose they should have some sort of edge, but I'd think that edge could take many forms... They get a larger die (d12? d14?), or they add their Int Mod and Luck Mod, perhaps. Maybe they have a single spell that they get a d16 with, while others are the d12 or even just the 'standard' d10.

Thinking about it, I think the 'slight edge' should just apply to one or two spells at most, in general. Maybe they get two if they roll them randomly, but only one if they choose it...?

_________________
Gnome Boy (aka "Jon") • DCC play-tester @ DDC 35, Feb 2011. • Beta DL 2111, 7:00 AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since 1977 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be DCC Monsters

PbP Purple Planeteers!

Kelven • Smuggler • L • S14 A8 S11 P12 I7 L10
AC9+, HP4, Mv 30, In -1, R-1 F0 W0
Sword +1 _
Staff +1 or Sling -1 1d4+1
Scale, Flask, waterproof sack, 50’ rope, torch, 21 cp

Toby • Squire • C • S13 A10 S14 P15 I16 L9
AC10+, HP3, Mv 30, In 0, R0 F1 W1
Longsword +1 1d8+1
Scale, Lg sack, steel helmet, 50’ rope, torch • Common, Chaos, Hobgoblin

Havarth • Animal trainer • L • S11 A11 S9 P15 I9 L7
AC10, HP1 (of 4), Mv 30, In 0, R0 F0 W1
Glaive +0 1d10
Club +0 1d4
Chain 10', pony, lg sack, 18 cp

Lucius • Slave • N • S13 A11 S8 P15 I11 L11
AC10+, HP1, Mv 30, In 0, R0 F-1 W1
Sword +1 _
Flint Dagger +1 [thrown]
Club +1 1d4+1
Hide, Flint/steel, strange rock, oil (1)
Crit table +1

RIP
Stinky Pete, Ostler — Spine snapped by a tackling Kith


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:04 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 11:30 pm
Posts: 13
For a Wizards Apprentice, I would allow a full D20+ INT mod plus any lucky sign. They could also burn luck if they roll well enough to avoid the enhanced "natural 1" range.

They would not add level, nor would they be able to spell burn.

However, I would increase the spell failure range for critical failure as follows.

Add the level of the spell to the base critical failure value of 1, thus for a level 1 spell a D20 roll of 1 or 2 would end in a natural 1 roll, or for a 4th level spell a roll D20 roll of 1-5 would equal a natural 1 roll. They can not burn luck to change this larger "1" range.

I view it this way, you can play with fire (1D10) untrained or you can play with FIRE (1D20) with just enough knowledge to be extremely dangerous(to yourself and others) but not as a full-fledged Wizard with their access to spell burn and their other abilities.

KSW


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group