When a halfling expends luck to aid her allies...

Are you new to DCC? Are you loaded down with questions to ask before you begin play? Explore this section for answers and insights -- and ask your own questions -- about getting started with the Dungeon Crawl Classics Roleplaying Game...

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

Post Reply
marksolino
Ill-Fated Peasant
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 4:14 am
FLGS: D6 Games in Rochester, MN

When a halfling expends luck to aid her allies...

Post by marksolino » Thu Dec 26, 2019 2:25 am

...does it count as her action for the round?

User avatar
GnomeBoy
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
Posts: 3567
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
FLGS: Bizarro World
Location: Left Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: When a halfling expends luck to aid her allies...

Post by GnomeBoy » Thu Dec 26, 2019 10:45 am

Conceptually, the Halfling isn't doing anything when the player decides to spend Luck on someone else. Narratively, it's lucky to have a halfling around.

While it isn't explicitly stated in the Halfling write-up, I'm sure most folks (if not all) allow this expenditure of Luck to happen without consuming the Halfling's action. After all, it doesn't take an Action Die to burn Luck. It'd stifle the ability to make it a choice between doing something else and spending Luck to help the Warrior (or whomever), and would make the Halfling less fun to play...

No the short answer is: no. :mrgreen:
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be 100+ DCC Monsters

bygrinstow.com

Kuruz, Mendicant, N • AC 8, 4 hp • R-1, F0, W0 • S9 A8 S9 P11 I16 L8
Zend, Grave Digger, L • AC 9, 3 hp • R-1, F0, W1 • S14 A6 S9 P13 I13 L6
Mercer, Outlaw, N • AC 12, 2 hp • R0, F-1, W1 • S7 A9 S6 P13 I8 L13
Dejah, Ropemaker, C • AC 10, 3 hp • R0, F1, W-1 • S8 A12 S15 P7 I11 L7

marksolino
Ill-Fated Peasant
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 4:14 am
FLGS: D6 Games in Rochester, MN

Re: When a halfling expends luck to aid her allies...

Post by marksolino » Thu Dec 26, 2019 10:08 pm

Thanks. I think your answer makes sense. I think what threw me a little was where it says that the halfling can act out of initiative order to do this...for whatever reason, it made me think that means that it's an action.

Post Reply

Return to “DCC College - New Judges Start Here”