Rounds vs turns and timekeeping

For DCC RPG rules discussion. Includes rules questions and ideas, new rules suggestions, homebrews and hacks, conversions to other systems, and everything else rules-related.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

rytrasmi
Far-Sighted Wanderer
FLGS: Meeplemart

Rounds vs turns and timekeeping

Post by rytrasmi »

I am really new to DCC but so far am pretty confused about rounds/turns and not able to find a clear answer on this board or others.

I think I know what the rules say about rounds and turns (a round is during combat and is 10 seconds long; turn is outside of combat and is 10 minutes long). However, several modules only seem to mention rounds.

E.g., in They Served Brandolyn Red, a random non-combat thing that could happen (page 7) is described as lasting a rolled number of rounds. I found the same issue with Sailors of the Starless Sea, where there are several traps whose effects are described in terms of a number of rounds. These are non-combat things that last N rounds.

I have been winging it, but would like to know what the intent is in these modules and the game as a whole because there is a factor of 60 difference. Does the effect last 1d8 x 10 seconds or 1d8 x 10 minutes?
Raven_Crowking
Cold-Hearted Immortal
FLGS: The Sword & Board

Re: Rounds vs turns and timekeeping

Post by Raven_Crowking »

Especially when you are talking about things like traps, rounds are important because it tells you how much time the PCs have available, and how many Action Dice they have a chance to use.

Jump down to combat time when small increments matter. You hit the trip wire? This happens. What do you do? One round later, this other thing happens. What do you do now? Six rounds later, a third thing happens. If the PCs act, they can do what they could in 1 or 6 combat rounds before the next thing happens. If they sit around talking for 10 seconds, or for 1 minute, the next thing just happens.