Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:08 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 3:34 pm 
Offline
Gongfarmer

Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:36 am
Posts: 2
I'm running DCC for the first time, starting with the "funnel" adventure in the core rulebook, and the lethality is... a bit less than I expected. :)

My players have been very careful (i.e., sending in one guinea pig/character at a time, etc.), such that the room with the barbarian statue (which as written is supposed to kill several characters), only killed one. AND that character succeeded on his Luck roll when the party rolled over the body.

And that same character died again. (Since he had a -4 penalty to rolls, he became the go-to guinea pig.) And the "roll over the body" rules don't seem to place a limit on how many times the same character can wake back up. He succeeded the 2nd time. At this point, I house-ruled that the same character could not recover in this fashion more than 1 time during the same adventure.

Am I running this right? Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 4:50 pm 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:41 am
Posts: 2800
rotgrub wrote:
I'm running DCC for the first time, starting with the "funnel" adventure in the core rulebook, and the lethality is... a bit less than I expected. :)

My players have been very careful (i.e., sending in one guinea pig/character at a time, etc.), such that the room with the barbarian statue (which as written is supposed to kill several characters), only killed one. AND that character succeeded on his Luck roll when the party rolled over the body.

And that same character died again. (Since he had a -4 penalty to rolls, he became the go-to guinea pig.) And the "roll over the body" rules don't seem to place a limit on how many times the same character can wake back up. He succeeded the 2nd time. At this point, I house-ruled that the same character could not recover in this fashion more than 1 time during the same adventure.

Am I running this right? Thanks in advance.


0-level characters are dead when they reach 0 hp. There is no chance to roll over the body....except to loot their stuff!

_________________
SoBH pbp:

Cathbad the Meek (herbalist Wizard 1): AC 9; 4 hp; S 7, A 7, St 10, P 17, I 13, L 8; Neutral; Club, herbs, 50' rope, 50 cp; -1 to melee attack rolls. Hideous scar.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 8:41 pm 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
Posts: 3367
Location: Left Coast, USA
FLGS: Bizarro World
Yeah, can't recall the page, but it specifically says Zeroes that reach 0 hp are dead, period.

The Funnel is sort of a game within a game as part of character creation...

_________________
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be DCC 100+ Monsters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group