Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Tue Jul 23, 2019 7:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 3:46 pm 
Offline
Gongfarmer

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 3:36 pm
Posts: 1
FLGS: Games Plus
Hi, I've scoured the rules and this site for a ruling about interrupting spellcasters and I must've missed it--my apologies. Can someone please clarify whether or not spellcasters can be interrupted if they're hit while casting their spell? If a wizard takes a round to cast a spell then does their spell go off at the end of that round, or 20 segments from the segment they casted it on the prior round? And if wizards are interrupted by taking damage, do they get an opportunity to make a Concentration check to not get interrupted, or is that not part of it?

Or can wizards simply not get interrupted?

Thanks in advance for answering my newbie question!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:56 am 
Offline
Chaos-Summoning Sorcerer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:34 pm
Posts: 879
Location: Győr, Hungary
heyscot wrote:
Hi, I've scoured the rules and this site for a ruling about interrupting spellcasters and I must've missed it--my apologies.

Like a lot of other areas this isn't clearly defined and is left for the Judge to make a call. So whatever I write from now on is mostly just my personal way of handling things.

heyscot wrote:
Can someone please clarify whether or not spellcasters can be interrupted if they're hit while casting their spell?

...

And if wizards are interrupted by taking damage, do they get an opportunity to make a Concentration check to not get interrupted, or is that not part of it?

Or can wizards simply not get interrupted?

There are rules for concentration on page 106. They seems perfect for handling casting interruption.

heyscot wrote:
If a wizard takes a round to cast a spell then does their spell go off at the end of that round, or 20 segments from the segment they casted it on the prior round?

DCC RPG doesn't break down turn into segments. Such small details would needlessly complicate things, wouldn't add anything to the game, and would introduce unnecessary bookkeeping. PC initiative is enough to handle battle order. As for spells with one round casting time: I consider them to be finished when the wizard's next round begins.

_________________
Vorpal Mace: a humble rpg blog with some DCC-related stuff.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 1:20 pm 
Online
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
Posts: 3472
Location: Left Coast, USA
FLGS: Bizarro World
Generally, if it takes a round, that's the same as your action, as in "it uses up your whole round," you can do nothing else til next round.

A spell that takes one round, when it's the Wizard's turn, he casts, it happens, effects are applied, and we move on to the next person in the initiative.

But the game is made to bend to the GM, so if you want to introduce segments and greater spell-interruptability, go for it.

_________________
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be 100+ DCC Monsters

bygrinstow.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group