Spellburn to regain a spell - time

For DCC RPG rules discussion. Includes rules questions and ideas, new rules suggestions, homebrews and hacks, conversions to other systems, and everything else rules-related.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

Post Reply
User avatar
foot land-raker
Far-Sighted Wanderer
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:01 pm

Spellburn to regain a spell - time

Post by foot land-raker » Sat Jun 28, 2014 2:12 pm

Do you allow a wizard to spellburn to regain a spell and cast the spell in the same round?
I am joined with no foot-land rakers, no long-staff sixpenny strikers, none of these mad mustachio purple-hued malt-worms; but with nobility and tranquillity, burgomasters and great oneyers...

User avatar
GnomeBoy
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
Posts: 3813
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
FLGS: Bizarro World
Location: Left Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Spellburn to regain a spell - time

Post by GnomeBoy » Sat Jun 28, 2014 4:35 pm

Hasn't come up as a Judge -- but yes.

I also interpret it that the spellburn to bring back a lost spell just lets you cast it that one time, but I know some folks say it brings it back until you lose it again.
...
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be 100+ DCC Monsters

bygrinstow.com - The Home of Inner Ham

User avatar
Pesky
Mighty-Thewed Reaver
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 10:21 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Spellburn to regain a spell - time

Post by Pesky » Sat Jun 28, 2014 11:08 pm

foot land-raker wrote:Do you allow a wizard to spellburn to regain a spell and cast the spell in the same round?
FWIW, I let the PC treat the spellburn as a move action, so if the casting time for the spell is 1 action, then he can cast in the same round (assuming he does nothing else). If the casting time for the spell is a round, then the spellburn and the casting happen in separate rounds. I also agree with GnomeBoy that the spellburn allows one to recast the spell just that time. If the PC wants to recast the lost spell again on the same day then another spellburn is needed.
Terry Olson

User avatar
DCCfan
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:23 am
FLGS: The Comics Club
Location: Auburndale, FL

Re: Spellburn to regain a spell - time

Post by DCCfan » Sun Jun 29, 2014 8:49 am

I allow it to be cast in the same round. I treat the spellburn action as extra component for the spell. I also only allow one casting per spellburn.
"When creating your character,choose an ethical system that can justify nearly any fit of temper, greed, cowardice, or vindictiveness, for example, Chaotic Violent..."

THE PROTOCOLS, ADVANCED PROTOCOL #10

User avatar
Cthulhuoid
Far-Sighted Wanderer
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 12:53 pm

Re: Spellburn to regain a spell - time

Post by Cthulhuoid » Sun Jun 29, 2014 10:46 am

I do, basically - a point per spell level, plus a requirement to spellburn for additional points equal to the level.

What I also do is make the PC roll on the spellburn chart, OR have a delay in initiative equal to the spell level.
Judge Roy Snyder

Post Reply

Return to “Rules discussion”