Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:23 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Luck Check
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 6:17 am 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 9:15 am
Posts: 68
So while reading The Emerald Enchanter I noticed a luck check. This is the basic check just like an Intelligence check where you roll and add or subtract your luck score correct? I ask because the luck check I recall from the main book has you rolling under the luck number but I think that is just for the checking the body roll. Just looking for a little clarification to make sure I am reading that correctly.

_________________
-Stretch
If you survive a crucible you grow the stronger for it. - Arrow.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Luck Check
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 11:31 am 
Offline
Deft-Handed Cutpurse
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:43 am
Posts: 202
Location: Chicago
If there is a DC (Difficulty Class) you roll and apply your modifier. Success is equal or above the DC.
If it just says luck check with no DC a roll equal or under your current Luck score is a success.

_________________
DOUG KOVACS
Artist/Illustrator
dk@dougkovacs.com
http://dougkovacs.com
The Drain Chamber (Blog)
http://dougkovacs.com/dkblog/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Luck Check
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 5:29 pm 
Offline
Ill-Fated Peasant

Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:13 pm
Posts: 4
So whenever it just says Luck Check, without a specified DC, it's equal or under your own luck? Even for a Roll Over check?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Luck Check
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 7:22 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 5:15 am
Posts: 33
Location: The Road of Kings
Related LUCK question, on page 19 of the rules it states that a character's "lucky roll modifier does NOT change over time as the character's Luck changes." I have played in two games where the Judge has modified the characters luck modifier as the have spent luck. I was told that was a misprint and that had been corrected here on the boards. I just spent 2 hours looking and can't find that here. I am blind, or was what that judge selling complete and total bullflip?

_________________
The Wayfaring Sword

DCC Playtest 2011: Dicehead Games
The 13th Skull Playtest: Saved the duke's daughter
Notable DCC Character: Throdd the Slayer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Luck Check
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:41 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 12:15 am
Posts: 14
That rule only applies to the result of the birth augur table on page 19.

For example, if your character rolled 29 on the table, Birdsong: number of languages, then his or her starting languages is modified by his luck modifier. As his or her luck goes up and down, he or she does not gain or lose languages.

Otherwise the Judge is right, if someone spends enough luck to change the luck modifier, then use the current luck modifier for all rolls involving luck, not the original luck modifier when the character was created.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Luck Check
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:57 am 
Offline
Deft-Handed Cutpurse
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:43 am
Posts: 202
Location: Chicago
LotharTheFellhanded wrote:
So whenever it just says Luck Check, without a specified DC, it's equal or under your own luck? Even for a Roll Over check?


rolling the body is a straight (roll under) luck check . Yes. It's helpful to keep your luck high in case of near death experiences.



Wayfaring_Sword wrote:
Related LUCK question, on page 19 of the rules it states that a character's "lucky roll modifier does NOT change over time as the character's Luck changes." I have played in two games where the Judge has modified the characters luck modifier as the have spent luck. I was told that was a misprint and that had been corrected here on the boards. I just spent 2 hours looking and can't find that here. I am blind, or was what that judge selling complete and total bullflip?


I've always played as Gansk says. though I can't point you to where it says that at the moment.

_________________
DOUG KOVACS
Artist/Illustrator
dk@dougkovacs.com
http://dougkovacs.com
The Drain Chamber (Blog)
http://dougkovacs.com/dkblog/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Luck Check
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 9:26 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 5:15 am
Posts: 33
Location: The Road of Kings
Gotcha! So you LUCK mod. changes as you spend/gain luck. Your "lucky sign" modifier stays the same no matter what.

Thank you both for clearing that up for me.

:D

_________________
The Wayfaring Sword

DCC Playtest 2011: Dicehead Games
The 13th Skull Playtest: Saved the duke's daughter
Notable DCC Character: Throdd the Slayer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group