Luck Check

For DCC RPG rules discussion. Includes rules questions and ideas, new rules suggestions, homebrews and hacks, conversions to other systems, and everything else rules-related.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, michaelcurtis, finarvyn, Harley Stroh

Post Reply
User avatar
Stretch
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 9:15 am

Luck Check

Post by Stretch » Thu May 15, 2014 6:17 am

So while reading The Emerald Enchanter I noticed a luck check. This is the basic check just like an Intelligence check where you roll and add or subtract your luck score correct? I ask because the luck check I recall from the main book has you rolling under the luck number but I think that is just for the checking the body roll. Just looking for a little clarification to make sure I am reading that correctly.
-Stretch
If you survive a crucible you grow the stronger for it. - Arrow.

User avatar
Doug Kovacs
Deft-Handed Cutpurse
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:43 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Luck Check

Post by Doug Kovacs » Thu May 15, 2014 11:31 am

If there is a DC (Difficulty Class) you roll and apply your modifier. Success is equal or above the DC.
If it just says luck check with no DC a roll equal or under your current Luck score is a success.
DOUG KOVACS
Artist/Illustrator
dk@dougkovacs.com
http://dougkovacs.com
The Drain Chamber (Blog)
http://dougkovacs.com/dkblog/

LotharTheFellhanded
Ill-Fated Peasant
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:13 pm

Re: Luck Check

Post by LotharTheFellhanded » Fri May 30, 2014 5:29 pm

So whenever it just says Luck Check, without a specified DC, it's equal or under your own luck? Even for a Roll Over check?

User avatar
Wayfaring_Sword
Far-Sighted Wanderer
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 5:15 am
Location: The Road of Kings

Re: Luck Check

Post by Wayfaring_Sword » Sat May 31, 2014 7:22 am

Related LUCK question, on page 19 of the rules it states that a character's "lucky roll modifier does NOT change over time as the character's Luck changes." I have played in two games where the Judge has modified the characters luck modifier as the have spent luck. I was told that was a misprint and that had been corrected here on the boards. I just spent 2 hours looking and can't find that here. I am blind, or was what that judge selling complete and total bullflip?
The Wayfaring Sword

DCC Playtest 2011: Dicehead Games
The 13th Skull Playtest: Saved the duke's daughter
Notable DCC Character: Throdd the Slayer

Gansk
Far-Sighted Wanderer
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 12:15 am

Re: Luck Check

Post by Gansk » Sat May 31, 2014 8:41 am

That rule only applies to the result of the birth augur table on page 19.

For example, if your character rolled 29 on the table, Birdsong: number of languages, then his or her starting languages is modified by his luck modifier. As his or her luck goes up and down, he or she does not gain or lose languages.

Otherwise the Judge is right, if someone spends enough luck to change the luck modifier, then use the current luck modifier for all rolls involving luck, not the original luck modifier when the character was created.

User avatar
Doug Kovacs
Deft-Handed Cutpurse
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:43 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Luck Check

Post by Doug Kovacs » Sat May 31, 2014 8:57 am

LotharTheFellhanded wrote:So whenever it just says Luck Check, without a specified DC, it's equal or under your own luck? Even for a Roll Over check?
rolling the body is a straight (roll under) luck check . Yes. It's helpful to keep your luck high in case of near death experiences.


Wayfaring_Sword wrote:Related LUCK question, on page 19 of the rules it states that a character's "lucky roll modifier does NOT change over time as the character's Luck changes." I have played in two games where the Judge has modified the characters luck modifier as the have spent luck. I was told that was a misprint and that had been corrected here on the boards. I just spent 2 hours looking and can't find that here. I am blind, or was what that judge selling complete and total bullflip?
I've always played as Gansk says. though I can't point you to where it says that at the moment.
DOUG KOVACS
Artist/Illustrator
dk@dougkovacs.com
http://dougkovacs.com
The Drain Chamber (Blog)
http://dougkovacs.com/dkblog/

User avatar
Wayfaring_Sword
Far-Sighted Wanderer
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 5:15 am
Location: The Road of Kings

Re: Luck Check

Post by Wayfaring_Sword » Sat May 31, 2014 9:26 am

Gotcha! So you LUCK mod. changes as you spend/gain luck. Your "lucky sign" modifier stays the same no matter what.

Thank you both for clearing that up for me.

:D
The Wayfaring Sword

DCC Playtest 2011: Dicehead Games
The 13th Skull Playtest: Saved the duke's daughter
Notable DCC Character: Throdd the Slayer

Post Reply

Return to “Rules discussion”