Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:42 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 12:53 pm 
Offline
Ill-Fated Peasant

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:46 pm
Posts: 3
How do folks run mercurial magic in relation to a spell's success? Does the effect always happen, even in terms of spell failure? Or does it only happen if the spell goes off? Or default to the second one, unless it's an added cost to the spellcasting, in which case it has to be done no matter what?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 1:11 pm 
Offline
Deft-Handed Cutpurse
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:43 am
Posts: 202
Location: Chicago
Spell needs to be a success.
There might be some conditions that could change that slightly but thats the general rule.

_________________
DOUG KOVACS
Artist/Illustrator
dk@dougkovacs.com
http://dougkovacs.com
The Drain Chamber (Blog)
http://dougkovacs.com/dkblog/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 1:59 pm 
Offline
Ill-Fated Peasant

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:46 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks, Doug (big fan)!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 2:48 pm 
Offline
Deft-Handed Cutpurse
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 4:47 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
I go BTB and have it go off on a success. However, I handle it a bit differently in that I have them roll the initial mercurial effect the very first time they use the spell, not when they acquire it. This has made for some interesting spell casting encounters for sure!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 3:55 pm 
Offline
Deft-Handed Cutpurse
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:43 am
Posts: 202
Location: Chicago
Yeah we have done it Cojo's way too.
Recently I rolled, but didn't look up the effect for a character I was playing , then we reveled it in game. That's a fun way to do it.

_________________
DOUG KOVACS
Artist/Illustrator
dk@dougkovacs.com
http://dougkovacs.com
The Drain Chamber (Blog)
http://dougkovacs.com/dkblog/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 2:14 am 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:42 am
Posts: 2460
Location: Chicago suburbs
FLGS: Fair Game
DM Cojo wrote:
I handle it a bit differently in that I have them roll the initial mercurial effect the very first time they use the spell, not when they acquire it. This has made for some interesting spell casting encounters for sure!
That's a neat twist! I've always done it at the start, but I like your take on it better. I'll have to give it a shot in my next campaign. :twisted:

_________________
Marv / Finarvyn
DCC Minister of Propaganda; Deputized 6/8/11
Image
DCC RPG playtester 2011, C&C playtester 2003,T&T since 2003,
ADRP Since 1993, OD&D player since 1975

"The worthy GM never purposely kills players' PCs, He presents opportunities for the rash and unthinking players to do that all on their own."
-- Gary Gygax
"Don't ask me what you need to hit. Just roll the die and I will let you know!"
-- Dave Arneson


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 6:44 am 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:41 am
Posts: 2797
I generally have the Mercurial effect occur when the spell is cast, whether it succeeds or not, unless the description says otherwise. So, if you kill someone you know to power your spell, someone you know dies whether you succeed or not. Yes, this means that a good Mercurial effect may be the point of attempting a certain spell, but since every casting comes with the risk of losing the spell, or rolling the dreaded "1", that hasn't hurt game play at all.

_________________
SoBH pbp:

Cathbad the Meek (herbalist Wizard 1): AC 9; 4 hp; S 7, A 7, St 10, P 17, I 13, L 8; Neutral; Club, herbs, 50' rope, 50 cp; -1 to melee attack rolls. Hideous scar.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 3:15 pm 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
Posts: 3362
Location: Left Coast, USA
FLGS: Bizarro World
You can usually still use Mercurial Magic for a good 10 days or so after the Sell by date....


It had to be said.

_________________
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be DCC 100+ Monsters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 4:06 pm 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 4:30 pm
Posts: 1127
Location: In a galaxy far, far, away (Missouri)
GnomeBoy wrote:
You can usually still use Mercurial Magic for a good 10 days or so after the Sell by date....


Maybe out on the Left Coast, but here in Missouri the humidity spoils everything! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 7:57 pm 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
Posts: 3362
Location: Left Coast, USA
FLGS: Bizarro World
JediOre wrote:
GnomeBoy wrote:
You can usually still use Mercurial Magic for a good 10 days or so after the Sell by date....


Maybe out on the Left Coast, but here in Missouri the humidity spoils everything! :lol:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpaOy8b8X6A

_________________
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be DCC 100+ Monsters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group