A few rules questions...

For DCC RPG rules discussion. Includes rules questions and ideas, new rules suggestions, homebrews and hacks, conversions to other systems, and everything else rules-related.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

Stretch
Wild-Eyed Zealot

A few rules questions...

Post by Stretch »

I am new to DCC and have been going through the book in preparation for running a game soon. Hoping to get a few clarifications on items I noticed during the readings I have made so far.

1) Spells....For mercurial magic systems we roll when they learn the spell to see how it manifests. Each spell also has a manifestation listed as well. How do those two systems work? Are they used in conjunction with each other? Or is that for cases in which there are no blatant effects on the mercurial magic charts?

2) Spells again....I probably missed it but what is the roll used to see if you can learn a spell? And I assume that is used at the start of the research time but that even if it comes out you can't learn it you still have to spend the time.

3) Crit tables. All of the tables have a listing for '0 or less.' Again, I probably missed it, but when you crit you roll a die ( 0 lvls rolling a d4) to see what you get. So how do you roll a 0 or less?

Those are the main rules questions I have. I also have a few questions on a few issues that will most likely come up and thought I might see if anyone has had these issues and how they were dealing with them.