Monster stat block - levels and crits

For DCC RPG rules discussion. Includes rules questions and ideas, new rules suggestions, homebrews and hacks, conversions to other systems, and everything else rules-related.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

UniversalHead
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Monster stat block - levels and crits

Post by UniversalHead »

Hi - I'm a bit of newbie to DCC so bear with me. :)

Two interrelated queries about monster stat blocks in the adventures. NPCs don't seem to have their 'levels' listed, so you're just going on hit dice; but how do you know which crit tables to use in these cases? If a NPC that uses magic has 2 HD, do I just assume he's a second level wizard, for example?

As a suggestion, I think it would be really handy if a monster's crit table and dice were included in the standard stat block. Just putting in, for example, "Crit: III/d6" would save a lot of mucking about and pauses in the action during combats when a monster rolled a 20.
GnomeBoy
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
FLGS: Bizarro World

Re: Monster stat block - levels and crits

Post by GnomeBoy »

I would use either the Zero-level Crit table or the generic Monster Crit table. The Class tables should be saved for the PCs, and for Classed NPCs.

IMHO. :D
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be 100+ DCC Monsters

bygrinstow.com - The Home of Inner Ham
GnomeBoy
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
FLGS: Bizarro World

Post by GnomeBoy »

NPCs generally don't have Levels -- that's a PC thing.

They just kind of are what they are...
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be 100+ DCC Monsters

bygrinstow.com - The Home of Inner Ham
Skyscraper
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer