I don't understand "As above" in the spell charts.

FORUM LOCKED AS OF 4/3/12. Forum for open playtest feedback related to spell tables, mercurial magic, patron magic, corruption and deity disapproval, etc.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

Locked
Geoffrey
Hard-Bitten Adventurer
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:09 am

I don't understand "As above" in the spell charts.

Post by Geoffrey »

I don't understand "As above" in the spell charts.

Let's take Color Spray as an example. If my modified roll is a 32, does that mean that my spell has all the combined powers of results 24-27 and 28-29 and 30-31?

Since each spell is being given its own page anyway, I suggest spelling things out for each result rather than having several occurrences of "As above". As the tables stand, when the player gets an "As above" result, he has to search through several results, combining all the appropriate details to see what his spell did. It would be much smoother if the player could simply reference a single result.
Click here to purchase my five AD&D modules.
Each of these modules is self-contained. No other books are required other than the three AD&D rulebooks (or a similar set of rules if you prefer).
Click here to purchase prints of Luigi Castellani's cover art for these modules.
jmucchiello
Chaos-Summoning Sorcerer
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 3:28 am

Re: I don't understand "As above" in the spell charts.

Post by jmucchiello »

I assume it means, take the line above and bend/fold/mutilate with the follow. So in the case of Color Spray, yes, 32+ combines much of the previous lines into text that should read:
A blast of colored chaos affects all targets 100' long and from 10' to 30' wide (attacker can decide). All target, including your allies, within the cone are knocked unconscious and blinded for 3d4+1 rounds. Creates of 6 HD or less receive no save; other can attempt a Will save to resist. Sightless creates are immune.
goodmangames
Cold-Hearted Immortal
Posts: 2703
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: I don't understand "As above" in the spell charts.

Post by goodmangames »

You are not the first to state this! I intend to go back through the spell tables and remove the "as above" references. Just need to find the time to do it. But, yes, acknowledged that it can slow things down a bit as the reader has to skim a couple entries above to "catch on" to the effect.
Joseph Goodman
Goodman Games
www.goodman-games.com
Michael Pfaff
Far-Sighted Wanderer
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 7:32 pm
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: I don't understand "As above" in the spell charts.

Post by Michael Pfaff »

Agreed. The full effect should be listed on each result.
User avatar
DCCfan
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer
Posts: 638
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:23 am
FLGS: The Comics Club
Location: Auburndale, FL

Re: I don't understand "As above" in the spell charts.

Post by DCCfan »

As a DM it always bugs me when a player yells out three rounds later that he shouldn't be dead because his spell should have done X which would have killed Y. Can we go back I missed X in the spell description? So I'm glad to hear that you are getting rid of as above.
"When creating your character,choose an ethical system that can justify nearly any fit of temper, greed, cowardice, or vindictiveness, for example, Chaotic Violent..."

THE PROTOCOLS, ADVANCED PROTOCOL #10
Locked

Return to “Playtest Feedback: Spells and Magic”