Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:43 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to use Luck for wizards
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:18 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:03 am
Posts: 44
Suppose Albus and Bartleby both have Luck scores of 18. They both have a bonus of +3 on luck-relevant rolls.

Suppose Albus, a wizard, rolls a 27 on Table 1-2; now his Luck bonus applies to Corruption rolls.
His friend Bartleby, also a wizard, does not roll a 27 and thus his Luck bonus does not apply to Corruption rolls.

Then the players look at page 35, which says: "A wizard’s Luck modifier applies to all rolls for corruption (see page 97) and mercurial magic (see page 95)."

Does this mean that Albus has a +6 on Corruption rolls and Bartleby has a +3 on Corruption rolls?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to use Luck for wizards
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:02 am 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:25 pm
Posts: 49
Location: San Diego, CA
yfr wrote:
Suppose Albus and Bartleby both have Luck scores of 18. They both have a bonus of +3 on luck-relevant rolls.

Suppose Albus, a wizard, rolls a 27 on Table 1-2; now his Luck bonus applies to Corruption rolls.
His friend Bartleby, also a wizard, does not roll a 27 and thus his Luck bonus does not apply to Corruption rolls.

Then the players look at page 35, which says: "A wizard’s Luck modifier applies to all rolls for corruption (see page 97) and mercurial magic (see page 95)."

Does this mean that Albus has a +6 on Corruption rolls and Bartleby has a +3 on Corruption rolls?

Thanks.



I would think that you would. The Luck chart has a note at the bottom that specifically mentions crits and fumbles working that way. I don't see why you'd treat this differently.

_________________
Magic: 40% of the time it works every time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to use Luck for wizards
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:30 am 
Offline
Chaos-Summoning Sorcerer

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:28 am
Posts: 779
yfr wrote:
Does this mean that Albus has a +6 on Corruption rolls and Bartleby has a +3 on Corruption rolls?

Yes. As I understand it. In 3e terms all bonuses are unnamed and thus stack. You can apply a luck bonus twice if that's what the rules dictate.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group