Mighty Deed of Arms

FORUM LOCKED AS OF 4/3/12. Forum for open playtest feedback related to combat rules, crits, fumbles, Mighty Deeds of Arms, etc.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

Locked
User avatar
mshensley
Mighty-Thewed Reaver
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 6:39 am
Location: Knoxville, TN
Contact:

Mighty Deed of Arms

Post by mshensley » Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:53 am

The example used in the fighter section on 31 doesn't include the attack die in the damage.
Because the attack die came up a 3, the Deed also succeeds. The warrior does 1d8+2 damage with his longsword
Shouldn't that damage be 1d8+2(str mod)+3(attack die)?

Also, in the paragraph above that it refers to the attack die as the action die. It's confusing.
If the action die is a 3 or higher, and the attack lands (e.g., the total attack roll exceeds the target’s AC), the Deed succeeds. If the action die is a 2 or less, or the overall attack fails, the Deed fails as well.

Harley Stroh
Cold-Hearted Immortal
Posts: 1803
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 4:02 am
Location: On the run.
Contact:

Re: Mighty Deed of Arms

Post by Harley Stroh » Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:15 pm

mshensley wrote:The example used in the fighter section on 31 doesn't include the attack die in the damage.
Because the attack die came up a 3, the Deed also succeeds. The warrior does 1d8+2 damage with his longsword
Shouldn't that damage be 1d8+2(str mod)+3(attack die) ?
This is correct. Good catch.
mshensley wrote: Also, in the paragraph above that it refers to the attack die as the action die. It's confusing.
If the action die is a 3 or higher, and the attack lands (e.g., the total attack roll exceeds the target’s AC), the Deed succeeds. If the action die is a 2 or less, or the overall attack fails, the Deed fails as well.
That is confusing. Again, good catch.

//H
The lucky guy who got to write some Dungeon Crawl Classics.

DCC Resource thread: character sheets, judge tools, and the world's fastest 0-level party creator.

goodmangames
Cold-Hearted Immortal
Posts: 2701
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Mighty Deed of Arms

Post by goodmangames » Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:49 pm

You ought to be a proofreader for a living! Thanks for the edits. I'll make sure these get corrected in the final version.
Joseph Goodman
Goodman Games
www.goodman-games.com

User avatar
raskal
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:56 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Mighty Deed of Arms

Post by raskal » Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:37 am

The player rolls two times the attack dice (once for hitting and once for damage if target is hit)
or
the player rolls only one time the attack dice and the same result is apply to hitting and damage (if the target is hit) ?

User avatar
GnomeBoy
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
Posts: 3570
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
FLGS: Bizarro World
Location: Left Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Mighty Deed of Arms

Post by GnomeBoy » Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:34 am

raskal wrote:The player rolls two times the attack dice (once for hitting and once for damage if target is hit)
or
the player rolls only one time the attack dice and the same result is apply to hitting and damage (if the target is hit) ?
Une seulement, goldurnit.

Excuse my French.
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be 100+ DCC Monsters

bygrinstow.com

Kuruz, Mendicant, N • AC 8, 4 hp • R-1, F0, W0 • S9 A8 S9 P11 I16 L8
Zend, Grave Digger, L • AC 9, 3 hp • R-1, F0, W1 • S14 A6 S9 P13 I13 L6
Mercer, Outlaw, N • AC 12, 2 hp • R0, F-1, W1 • S7 A9 S6 P13 I8 L13
Dejah, Ropemaker, C • AC 10, 3 hp • R0, F1, W-1 • S8 A12 S15 P7 I11 L7

User avatar
raskal
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:56 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Mighty Deed of Arms

Post by raskal » Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:01 pm

Merci beaucoup !

User avatar
raskal
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:56 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Mighty Deed of Arms

Post by raskal » Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:30 pm

I have two other questions.

1/ The rule says :
The Deed succeeds at the most basic level if the attack hits and the attack die is a 3 or higher. The attack inflicts normal damage and the Deed takes place. The higher the attack die the greater the Deed.
Normal damage is Weapon damage + Strengh Modifiers ? (so without the Attack Die result)

2/ What's happen if the attack hits and attack dice is 1 or 2 ? Attack inflicts normal damage (Weapon damage + Strengh Modifiers) ? or the attack fails ?

User avatar
GnomeBoy
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
Posts: 3570
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
FLGS: Bizarro World
Location: Left Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Mighty Deed of Arms

Post by GnomeBoy » Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:20 pm

raskal wrote:I have two other questions.

1/ The rule says :
The Deed succeeds at the most basic level if the attack hits and the attack die is a 3 or higher. The attack inflicts normal damage and the Deed takes place. The higher the attack die the greater the Deed.
Normal damage is Weapon damage + Strengh Modifiers ? (so without the Attack Die result)

2/ What's happen if the attack hits and attack dice is 1 or 2 ? Attack inflicts normal damage (Weapon damage + Strengh Modifiers) ? or the attack fails ?
AIUI, normal damage includes the result of the special die for those with MDOAs.

if the attack hits, then the attack hits -- the MDOA might fail alongside it, but the attack still hits.
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be 100+ DCC Monsters

bygrinstow.com

Kuruz, Mendicant, N • AC 8, 4 hp • R-1, F0, W0 • S9 A8 S9 P11 I16 L8
Zend, Grave Digger, L • AC 9, 3 hp • R-1, F0, W1 • S14 A6 S9 P13 I13 L6
Mercer, Outlaw, N • AC 12, 2 hp • R0, F-1, W1 • S7 A9 S6 P13 I8 L13
Dejah, Ropemaker, C • AC 10, 3 hp • R0, F1, W-1 • S8 A12 S15 P7 I11 L7

User avatar
raskal
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:56 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Mighty Deed of Arms

Post by raskal » Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:47 pm

If there is no negative effect to fail a MDOA, a warrior's interest is to try a MDOA at each of its attacks.
I am right ?

User avatar
GnomeBoy
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
Posts: 3570
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
FLGS: Bizarro World
Location: Left Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Mighty Deed of Arms

Post by GnomeBoy » Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:38 am

raskal wrote:If there is no negative effect to fail a MDOA, a warrior's interest is to try a MDOA at each of its attacks.
I am right ?
Tu es parfaitement raison.
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be 100+ DCC Monsters

bygrinstow.com

Kuruz, Mendicant, N • AC 8, 4 hp • R-1, F0, W0 • S9 A8 S9 P11 I16 L8
Zend, Grave Digger, L • AC 9, 3 hp • R-1, F0, W1 • S14 A6 S9 P13 I13 L6
Mercer, Outlaw, N • AC 12, 2 hp • R0, F-1, W1 • S7 A9 S6 P13 I8 L13
Dejah, Ropemaker, C • AC 10, 3 hp • R0, F1, W-1 • S8 A12 S15 P7 I11 L7

Locked

Return to “Playtest Feedback: Combat”