Zak S wrote:
I haven't tested the game yet, but am about to. However, reading it I have a question about Mighty Deeds:
If I understand correctly, a PC must:
-successfully hit the target's AC,
-roll above a 3 on a d20 (usually a d20)
to perform a mighty deed. The results for mighty deeds are broken into "3" results (the weakest), and gaining power through "4","5", and "6", and then "7+" results being the most powerful/successful.
My question is: since the attack roll has to not only be above 3 but also beat the defenders armor class, won't the vast majority of Mighty Deed rolls be 7+?
I assume this is intended and part of how the game is designed but doesn't it:
A-make combat extremely brutal (which is ok, but it's really easy to blind someone for 24 hours or forever in this system so you'd think after a few years, whole armies would be blind)
and (more of a big deal to me)
B-kind of neglect results 3-6, which will hardly ever come up? On paper, they seem to be carefully graduated options that add situational complexity, but looking at the numbers it seems like they would only come up in marginal cases.
Also, the set-up seems to guarantee that these marginal, less-effective results 3-6, are more likely against weaker foes (with worse ACs). Which seems kinda backwards.
Anyway, I know the real test of any rule is in the playing and I will not throw this out or hack it before trying it, but I'd like to hear what the original intent of setting up deeds this way was.
Thank you for the post. You are correct in your understanding of how the mechanic is currently designed. And your assessment of how it will play out is, I believe, accurate.
I would, though, add a nuance that may or may not change your perception of the the rule in play:
The level scale of DCC RPG is very condensed. Originally we planned on having 5th level be the max level obtainable, but after feedback from the forums, realized that players overwhelmingly wanted at least ten levels. Even so, 5th level means you are the freakin' man. (Hereafter, "the Man.")
The Man gets to roll +1d7. Lesser mortals roll 1d3 or maybe better if they've been around the block. While he is stabbing you through the face, I'm merely tossing some sand around.
For the Man, yes, he blinds half his opponents for life, the other half are never able to reproduce, and the third half are dead. That's cause he's the Man. If you get lucky with the Man, maybe you only walk away blinded for a week or two, with a nasty scar. It's certainly less common to get lucky.
So, in the final release, it very well could be that a 10th level fighter, walking Death Incarnate, deals an +d7. And, hopefully, it makes sense, given the less granular power scale.