Walking into the Den of Bias ;)

If it doesn't fit into a category above, then inscribe it here, O Mighty One...

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

Disemvowel
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Walking into the Den of Bias ;)

Post by Disemvowel »

So, I am in the position to run a group of local gamers through an OSR campaign. My choices are swords&wizardry, or dcc. My reservations with dcc is that I have three and one half complete newbies. I am worried their patience, based on their personal veiws of pathfinder and savage worlds, will run out with the zocci dice, charts, and magic.

So, has anyone here ever run dcc with one or more blank slates?

They loved dragon age and old d&d, but found pathfinder and sw too crunchy.

I have run DCC before, but with gamers. In this group only one player of the five is a true gamer.

Thoughts?
Gameogre
Deft-Handed Cutpurse

Re: Walking into the Den of Bias ;)

Post by Gameogre »

Brand new players in my experience react better to DCC RPG than experienced gamers. People dislike change even if they say they like it. What experienced gamers mean when they want change is they want the exact same as always but with a key 1% difference that makes it better. Funky dice they don't have,rolling on charts for things they always had set rules for. Having things be MORE difficult for there characters....these add up to a larger possibility for unhappiness. (Even if you and I know what they are missing).

Brand new gamers are a blank slate. They don't know anything and have little if any preset notions of what is good or normal.

New gamers rock and will learn DCC RPG easily.
GnomeBoy
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
FLGS: Bizarro World

Post by GnomeBoy »