But how does the +1, +2, of a permanent static bonus fit with the "infuse item with Harm Effect at 1D8" listing in the ritual description (which lists the Max Item Charges as "permanent!"?
I think I understand how a charged item works (the more SP put into it, the more charges it has), but I don't see how many SP are required to make a permanent (static) bonus on an item. Could you please explain?
Making an item permanent costs the same spell points as other enchantment rituals, but usually requires "a component difficult to acquire, whether animal, mineral, or vegetable". The range of all Enchant Effect spells is "object", which means the cost is always based on a roll of Arcanum + relevant Power Source specialization + relevant mastery (if possessed), dropping the lowest die.
So to answer your question (in part), an arcanist who ran across the "Create Magic Fire Sword" ritual would need at least D4 in Arcanum (I'll explain this below), and would roll against a difficulty of 2D4
[edited 7-6-08] rather than the normal vs. 1D6...because the item is being made permanent. Plus he'd be required to get some special component.
What is confusing you, and understandably so, is that the permanent magic item rules only gives details and examples if adding static numbers to your magic items (as opposed to random dice). Throwing in the word "permanent" with the fire sword example was confusing because the ritual lists no static bonus to the sword...only a permanent ability to ignite the blade in magic flames (without any risk of becoming inert when energy points are spent), and deal 1D8 P-Harm.
I'll correct this problem right here:
To make any magic item's effect permanent, the ritual caster must roll vs. the Difficulty Chart on page 56 (rather than vs 1D6 as with regular magic items). The cost of the ritual is the same as any single object or creature spell (roll ADC, drop the lowest die). Remember, failure costs no spell points; it only wastes time and resources. However, permanency rituals require a *special* component as required by the GM, in addition to the regular rules on ritual casting using the Enchant Effect (see page 53, under 'enchantment of items'). An arcanist who seeks to add a permanent "static bonus" to an item, like a +1 to PHarm, or +2 Augment to Reflexes, must possess a specialization in Arcanum, one rank for every plus. That we knew...but...
An arcanist who seeks to make an item's regular Effect permanent is not explained in the book! It is merely inferred, and so I'll correct that now. He must have Arcanum rank following this chart:
An Effect's cumulative MRV / Required Arcanum rank to make Effect Permanent
1-12 / D4
13-18 / D6
19-24 / D8
25-30 / D10
31-36 / D12
So a ritual spell create an item with the Obscure Effect of 2D12, and making it permanent (never going inert), would mean the caster must have an Arcanum score of D8 or more (because it falls within that range of maximum ranks value, or MRV).