Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 3:35 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MECH AS PSYCRISTAL
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 8:59 pm 
Offline
Ill-Fated Peasant

Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:41 pm
Posts: 9
So here is my question, (mind you I only have the original Dragon book guide) I read the prevew of the mech manual and saw the crystalin mech. so heres my question can a psyon use a crystalin mech (asuming that he takes his first level of psyon as he creates the crystalin mech) as his psycristal???

if so there are many many implicatinons.

mind you I am looking for a technical ruleing not a ruling on weather it sould or sould not be alowed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 11:38 pm 
Offline
Ill-Fated Peasant

Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:41 pm
Posts: 9
COME ON SOMEONE PLEAS ANSWAR ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MECH AS PSYCRISTAL
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 9:44 am 
Offline
Hard-Bitten Adventurer

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 11:02 am
Posts: 150
Location: Surrounded by corn
Gnomentinkerer wrote:
So here is my question, (mind you I only have the original Dragon book guide) I read the prevew of the mech manual and saw the crystalin mech. so heres my question can a psyon use a crystalin mech (asuming that he takes his first level of psyon as he creates the crystalin mech) as his psycristal???

if so there are many many implicatinons.

mind you I am looking for a technical ruleing not a ruling on weather it sould or sould not be alowed.


The crystalline mech in the Mech Manual is a one-of-a-kind creation. It was crafted by a group of psionicists (who apparently died as a result), and therefore isn't available for use as a psi-crystal. We've refrained from making too many psi-oriented DragonMech items, as relatively few games use that rule set. There are a couple things for psionics in the book Steam Warriors, though.

_________________
DragonMech line developer, freelance writer, tall guy named Matt.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 2:05 pm 
Offline
Ill-Fated Peasant

Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:41 pm
Posts: 9
ok thank you for answaring me, but that doesnt really answare my question,

as I said at the bottom of my first post I am looking for a techincal yes or no and an explanation of that answare, and not a should.

sorry i dnot meen to seem a hard ass.

thank you in advance vary mutch.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 5:22 pm 
Offline
Chaos-Summoning Sorcerer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 736
Location: Lexington, KY
Keep in mind that with all roleplaying games, there really aren't any firm "yes"es or "no"s. If the GM (and to some extent the players) of a game wants something to work a particular way, then that's how they work regardless of what it may say in the rule book or what someone says on a message board.

However, "isn't available for use as a psi-crystal" sounds pretty much like a "no" to me.

_________________
Dieter Zimmerman
Drunk & Sailor


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 10:18 am 
Offline
Hard-Bitten Adventurer

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 11:02 am
Posts: 150
Location: Surrounded by corn
Mythfish is right - the crystal mech in the Mech Manual is not usable as a psi-crystal. As we haven't released rules on creating your own crystal mechs, Mythfish is also right that it's a GM's call. I wouldn't allow it in my games unless the player had a compelling story-based justification for something so unusual; I'm crazy like that.

But that doesn't entirely answer your question. We do have rules on turning mechs into magic items - you can have a +2 frost mech, which is kind of cool. I'm blanking on whether the rules are in Mech Manual or Steam Warriors. Regardless, it's got descriptions and conversion charts for giving your mech magical abilities. These could be adapted fairly easily for use with psi-items. In terms of game mechanics, if a mech can become a magic item, it should also be possible for it to become a psionic item if it meets the proper condition. But it would require some homework on your part, and I strongly suggest that a GM review such things carefully to see how they impact game balance. Does that clarify at all?

_________________
DragonMech line developer, freelance writer, tall guy named Matt.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 9:25 pm 
Offline
Deft-Handed Cutpurse
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:23 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Goodman Games East
walrusjester wrote:
We do have rules on turning mechs into magic items - you can have a +2 frost mech, which is kind of cool. I'm blanking on whether the rules are in Mech Manual or Steam Warriors.

They're in the Elven Mechs chapter of Mech Manual.

--Ken

_________________
DCC, DragonMech, Etherscope editor
Writer: "Madness at the Mutilated Oak," DCC #48: The Adventure Continues;
DCC #52: Chronicle of the Fiend

"It really is the height of pessimism to have a hat lined with chain mail." --Mrs. Peel


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group