Good rule system for a Hobbit/LotR Campaign

You know... whatever.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, Harley Stroh

MrHemlocks
Chaos-Summoning Sorcerer

Good rule system for a Hobbit/LotR Campaign

Post by MrHemlocks »

I am looking for some advice on games systems (rpgs) best portray The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. Dungeon Crawl Classics does not fit the bill. It is too weird, in a good way, and 'different' to use as a base for a Hobbit or LotR game. The only reason I started playing rpgs was on account of the Hobbit and LotR. So, now I am returning to my roots...

I found a couple of games that might work. Have any of you played them or know some 'stuff' you like to share about them, or other similar rpgs, that might help my with this quest?

The One Ring... http://www.cubicle7.co.uk/our-games/the-one-ring/

Balrogs and Bagginsess...
Maxwell Luther
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Re: Good rule system for a Hobbit/LotR Campaign

Post by Maxwell Luther »

MrHemlocks wrote:I am looking for some advice on games systems (rpgs) best portray The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. Dungeon Crawl Classics does not fit the bill. It is too weird, in a good way, and 'different' to use as a base for a Hobbit or LotR game. The only reason I started playing rpgs was on account of the Hobbit and LotR. So, now I am returning to my roots...

I found a couple of games that might work. Have any of you played them or know some 'stuff' you like to share about them, or other similar rpgs, that might help my with this quest?

My friend Francesco Nepitello wrote The One Ring and he is a Tolkien scholar in the same way that I am a Doctor Who scholar (you may or may not have seen my work on the Doctor Who RPG line). I have run numerous demos of the game.